Thursday, June 27, 2019

View Article


OSWEGO, NY (June 6, 2019) - Oswego Speedway is set to open the month of June with its second double feature event in a row as this weekend brings the familiar Supermodified Twin 35’s presented by Burke’s Do It Best Home Centers and Bosco’s Meat Market.


After being absent from the track’s schedule for over a decade, the Twin 35 format was brought back in 2014 and has since provided some of the most exciting races in recent history including the well publicized ‘dead heat’ between Michael Muldoon and Otto Sitterly in 2015.


With the exception of Sitterly winning the first twin and later tying Muldoon in ‘15, no one was victorious in back to back Twin 35’s since the format’s return five years ago until Michael Barnes swept both legs last season driving the Syrell No. 68.


Other Twin 35 winners since 2014 include Barnes and Randy Ritskes in 2014, Dave Danzer and Jeff Abold in 2016, Keith Shampine and Dave Shullick Jr. in 2017, and most recently Shullick and Chris Perley in 2018.


Following a Nicotra twin sweep on Opening Day, names like Barnes, Shampine, Shullick, Abold, Danzer, Gosek, Bellinger, Iosue, Thompson, Connors, Gruel, Snyder, and more will try to fend off the black and blue of Sitterly and Sload come Saturday evening.


For this year’s edition of the Supermodified Twin 35’s, the group time trial procedure will be used to line up all three heat races. Cars will hit the track prior to qualifying races at intervals of five or six at a time, with that driver’s best lap being recorded for the heat race handicapping.


To set the field for the first Twin 35, officials will next handicap the top four finishers from each heat and record each drivers’ fastest lap turned in his or her respective qualifier.


The sixth and fifth fastest cars overall will start on the front row for the first main event, followed by the fourth fastest, third fastest, and so on. The top twelve will be lined up 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. Cars that did not make the top four cutoff will start straight up.


As for the second Twin 35, that feature will be lined up using the normal weekly handicapping procedure based on the last three events, or in this week’s case, the Jim Shampine Memorial Twin 50’s which were held on May 25.


Officials will not re-handicap the field following the completion of the first main event. For the second Twin 35, the winner of the previous week’s feature will start no better than the twelfth position.


Supermodified commitment cars will be guaranteed a minimum of $650 in total start money for both feature events. ISMA franchise teams that participate in the Twin 35’s will receive $750 to start thanks to the $100 reciprocal bonus posted by Corr-Pak Merchandising.


As done in 2018, both Twin 35’s will pay full points towards the track championship. Each feature will serve as an entirely separate event factored into the handicapping and standings.


The time schedule for this Saturday, June 8 will see pit gates open at 3:15pm, grandstand gates open at 4:15pm, hot laps at 4:15pm, Supermodified group time trials at 6:00pm, and heat races at 6:45pm. Supermodified heats will be first.


Joining the big block Supers on the card this weekend are the Pathfinder Bank SBS division and the visiting Sunoco New York Super Stock Series which will each run 30-lap feature events. To purchase tickets for the action packed program, please call (315)-342-0646.


For more information on Oswego Speedway, you can visit online at Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at


About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. The speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at the Oswego Speedway making it the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds and 350 Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, and former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.


All-Time Supermodified Twin 35 Winners:


June 1976 - Fred Graves (Both)

July 1976 - Fred Graves, Ronnie Wallace

June 1977 - Warren Coniam, Kempton Dates

July 1977 - Kempton Dates (Both)

June 1978 - Jim Shampine (Both)

July 1978 - Jim Shampine (Both)

June 1979 - Steve Gioia Jr, Jim Shampine

July 1979 - Jim Shampine, Chuck Ciprich

June 1980 - Warren Coniam, Steve Gioia Jr.

July 1980 - Warren Coniam, Doug Heveron

June 1981 - Doug Heveron (Both)

July 1981 - Doug Heveron, Steve Gioia Jr.

June 1982 - Doug Heveron, Brian Herb

July 1982 - Doug Heveron, Mike McLaughlin

June 1983 - Warren Coniam, Steve Gioia Jr.

July 1983 - Ed Bellinger Jr. (Both)

June 1984 - Bentley Warren (Both)

July 1984 - Steve Gioia Jr, Dean Hoag

July 1985 - Ed Bellinger Jr, Steve Gioia Jr.

August 1985 - Bentley Warren (Both)

June 1986 - Joe Gosek, Steve Gioia Jr.

June 1987 - Doug Heveron (Both)

August 1987 - Gary Morton, Bentley Warren

August 1988 - Mike Ordway (Both)

August 1989 - Bentley Warren, Ed Bellinger Jr.

June 1990 - Ed Bellinger Jr, Steve Gioia Jr.

August 1990 - Doug Didero, Joe Gosek

June 1991 - Joe Gosek, Mike Ordway

August 1991 - Mike Ordway, Pat Abold

June 1992 - Pat Abold (Both)

August 1992 - Pat Abold (Both)

June 1993 - Russ Wood, Bentley Warren

August 1993 - Steve Gioia Jr, Dave McKnight

June 1994 - Pat Abold, Russ Wood

August 1994 - Ed Bellinger Jr, Doug Didero

June 1995 - Mike Muldoon (Both)

August 1995 - Doug Didero (Both)

June 1996 - Doug Didero, Mike Muldoon

August 1996 - Doug Didero, Pat Abold

June 1997 - Howard Page, Mike Muldoon

August 1997 - Pat Abold, Doug Didero

June 1998 - Mike Muldoon, Greg Furlong

June 2014 - Randy Ritskes, Michael Barnes

June 2015 - Otto Sitterly, Michael Muldoon / Otto Sitterly (Dead Heat)

June 2016 - Dave Danzer, Jeff Abold

June 2017 - Keith Shampine, Dave Shullick Jr.

June 2018 - Michael Barnes (Both)

Copyright © 2006-2019 Oswego Speedway