Wednesday, July 17, 2019

View Article


OSWEGO, NY (October 9, 2018) - With only one Supermodified event remaining in the northeast this season before the dreaded snow and cold hits, a handful of Oswego Speedway’s weekly competitors will be joining the stout field of ISMA Supermodifieds set to compete at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park’s ‘World Series’ this weekend.


This year’s track champion and Budweiser International Classic 200 victor Otto Sitterly will be taking ‘Black Betty’ to Connecticut with car owner John Nicotra car for his second winged race since winning his fifth Classic with the No. 7 on Labor Day Weekend. Sitterly finished ninth with the car at the Star Classic.

Also back in a winged car for the first time since his outstanding run at Sandusky Speedway’s Hy-Miler Nationals is the ‘The Hustler’ Michael Barnes. Barnes will be piloting Vic Miller’s older No. 11 car, usually driven by Chris Perley. Perley will be piloting the Hawk Chassis that he won the Jim Shampine Memorial with at Oswego this past May.

Dave Danzer is set to enter his third winged race of the post-season. The Oswego regular brought his No. 52 to the Star Classic and finished eleventh. Danzer also competed in the Midwest Supermodified Series event at Lucas OIl Raceway Park two weeks ago and finished eighth.

Longtime Oswego campaigner Dan Connors Jr. is extending his season as well. Connors also ventured out to Indianapolis for the MSS event and brought home a solid eight place finish with his No. 01. It will be the first time since 2014 that Connors has entered an ISMA race.

Last but not least is this year’s Novelis Supermodified rookie of the year sensation Tyler Thompson. Thompson will be driving the John Colloca built, Jason Simmons Racing No. 98T at his first World Series. The 16 year-old flawlessly lead the first 20 laps of the Bud Light ISMA Supernationals on Bud Classic Weekend before an expired engine halted his efforts early on.

Sitterly, Barnes, Danzer, Connors and Thompson will be joining Perley, Dan Bowes, Kyle Edwards, Mike Lichty, Mark Sammut, MIke Ordway Jr, Trent Stephens, Mike McVetta, Michael Muldoon, Ben Seitz, Tim Jedrzejek and the rest of the ISMA regulars vying for an increased $5,000 to win.

In addition to the increase for the winner, the purse throughout the field has also been increased this year. Bonuses of $1,000 for non-franchise cars and $1,500 for franchise cars have been posted to start the 50-lap event around the banked ⅝ mile.

Oswego Speedway will be on hand at this weekend’s event providing updates. You can LIKE the speedway on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway for the latest information.

Oswego Speedway’s 2019 schedule is a work in progress. The speedway’s 69th annual Opening Day has been set for Saturday, May 25th. Open Practice will take place a week earlier on Saturday, May 18. The season opener will include the Supermodifieds, Small Block Supers, and more.

The 2018 Hall of Fame Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, November 3 at the Lake Ontario Event & Conference Center. Tickets for the banquet, which will be available soon, are priced at $45. Contact the speedway box office at (315)-342-0646 or email to purchase.

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

Copyright © 2006-2019 Oswego Speedway