Monday, March 25, 2019

View Article


OSWEGO, NY (May 31, 2018) - Three-time speedway champion Dave Cliff and car owner Tim Barbeau have wreaked havoc on Oswego Speedway’s Pathfinder Bank SBS division the past three seasons and the same trend appears to be continuing early on in 2018.

Following Saturday’s season opening victory in the Tony White Memorial 35 for the back to back track champion, Cliff officially moved into sole possession of fifth all-time in Small Block Super victories at Oswego with fifteen just ahead of Bob Goutermout and Andrew Schartner.

“It’s good to start off the season with a win,” said Cliff, who didn’t win a single race in 2017 until track championship night in August. “I’ve never won the Opener before, so that’s pretty cool. The car handled great and I was able to make a lot of passes, especially on the top side. I feel really confident about the rest of this season, but it’s early. There are a lot of tough guys we have to compete with in this division.”

Barbeau, Cliff’s car owner for the past three seasons and a four-time Oswego winner himself, also moved up the all-time ranks in the car owner wins category. The Memorial Day Weekend checkered flag was the seventeenth of Barbeau’s career, allowing him to bypass Jim Paternoster and take fourth on the car owner wins list.

The owner of the C.P. Force LLC sponsored ride now has four victories as an owner and driver, five wins with Cliff, plus eight more in 2008, 2009 and 2010 with Dave Gruel and Chris Proud doing the driving. Barbeau has also been onboard for two of Cliff’s three championships.

To start off the 2018 season, Cliff now has a three point lead ahead of current championship runner up Russ Brown in the division standings.

Oswego Speedway returns to action next Saturday, June 9 when A&P Auto Parts presents the ‘Spring Championship’ featuring a 50-lap Novelis Supermodified main event plus a 30-lap feature for the Pathfinder Bank SBS. To purchase tickets, please call the box office at (315)-342-0646.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, be sure to visit online at You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at

 About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

All-Time Pathfinder Bank SBS Feature Win Leaders (1992-2018):

  1. Mike Bond - 41

  2. Russ Brown - 21

  3. Dave Gruel - 17

  4. Dean Hoag - 16

  5. Dave Cliff - 15



All-Time Pathfinder Bank SBS Car Owner Win Leaders (1992-2018):


  1. Crow Motorsports - 27

  2. Denise Merrill - 23

  3. Terry Solazzo - 20

  4. Tim Barbeau - 17

  5. Jim Paternoster - 16

Copyright © 2006-2018 Oswego Speedway