Monday, March 25, 2019

View Article


OSWEGO, NY (May 15, 2018) - Oswego Speedway officials have announced format changes ahead of the 27th annual Bud Light Classic 75 for the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supermodifieds on Sunday, September 2.


The race will remain 75-laps in 2018, however the lineup and qualifying formats for the biggest Small Block Super show of the season will now change.

“We have changed the starting format for this year’s SBS Classic based on feedback from our competitors and fans,” stated track owner John Torrese. “There has not been as much passing as we’d like and our fans have expressed this to us. Changing that is the goal with these format adjustments.”

All 75-laps of the Bud Light Classic will be green flag laps, with the lineup still set from Friday night ‘Pole Day’ time trials and qualifiers. However, that is where the format will begin to change.

Rather than the top six, the top eight fastest Small Block Supers in time trials will now lock in to the Bud Light Classic 75 and not be required to run either of the the two 12-lap semi finals which will be contested later Friday evening.

Also new in 2018, the top two finishers of each semi on Friday will then receive their qualifying time back and join the top eight qualifiers to make up the top twelve starting positions for the Classic.

The fast time award winner will then draw a number 6-8-12 to determine the inversion for the Bud Light Classic 75.

To allow the speedway to support the teams that have committed to the division for this season, the top six spots in the Classic will be reserved for a driver that has completed his commitment for 2018 by attending all shows with only one miss allowed.

If a driver is in the inversion, but has not competed in all events minus one event, he can start no better than seventh come race time on Sunday.

Thirteenth starting position on back will be decided straight up from the two semi final finishes. Third place in the first semi will start thirteenth in the Classic, third place in the second semi will start fourteenth, and so on.

Once again, the Bud Light Classic Consi will be run on Sunday afternoon prior to the start of the 75-lapper.

A total of 24 or 26 cars will start the Bud Light Classic 75 based on Friday’s car count.

Bud Classic Weekend 2018 will take place Friday, August 31 through Sunday, September 2 and feature four divisions including the Budweiser International Classic 200 for Novelis Supermodifieds, the Bud Light Classic 75 for Pathfinder Bank SBS, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s, the Bud Light ISMA Supernationals 60 for the winged Supermodifieds, and the all new 350 SMAC ‘Classic’ 35-lapper on Sunday. To purchase tickets, please call the speedway box office at (315)-342-0646.

Oswego Speedway’s 68th season opens this Saturday, May 19 with the track’s annual open practice session set from 1-5pm. Grandstand admission will be FREE to the public.

Racing action at Oswego Speedway begins on Saturday, May 26 with Holiday Inn Express ‘Opening Day’ highlighted by the Jim Shampine Memorial Twin 50’s for the Novelis Supermodifieds along with the Tony White Memorial 35 for the Pathfinder Bank SBS.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, be sure to visit You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and LIKE on Facebook at

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

Copyright © 2006-2018 Oswego Speedway