Thursday, July 31, 2014
 
22

OSWEGO, NY (November 22, 2013) – Oswego Kartway recently announced its 2014 regular season schedule with a total of 17 events set from April through August continuing on Friday nights behind Oswego Speedway.

Of the 17 scheduled events, 14 races will count toward the Kartway’s track championship point system, beginning with the Kartway Kick-Off on Friday, April 25.  All 14 point events will count toward the 2014 track championship once again, with no drops put in place for competitors.

Slight changes to the schedule include the annual King of the Kartway event moving from June to Friday, July 11 to run in conjunction with King of Wings VI at Oswego Speedway.

A Triple Crown series will also now be put in place joining the King of the Kartway special with the Battle at the Bullring on Friday, August 1 and the 8th annual Oswego Kartway Classic on Thursday, August 28.  Specific details on the Kartway Triple Crown will be announced later this off-season.

One other change will be the introduction of three off weekends to allow for potential rain dates.

The weeks of May 16 and July 25 will be reserved as off weekends, however they can be used as potential rain dates for events lost in their month.  Another off weekend will be August 22, reserved as a potential rain date for the Kartway’s Justin Lamb Memorial Track Championship Night.

“Last season we lost around eight races to rain,” said Kartway promoter Dan Kapuscinski.  “If we ran every single Friday through the season we would be looking at the potential of nearly 25 events, which is a lot to ask for from our Kartway family of racers and fans.  We believe taking around one Friday off a month is a good idea to allow everyone to reset through the season.  On the flip side, if we lose some races again to rain, we have those Fridays to use as make-ups with the goal of running 14 full point events in 2014.”

One other Friday evening will be idle in 2014, but it is being set aside to prepare for a rare Saturday night race at the Kartway.

The RMR Outlaw Series will come into town to take on the Kartway on Saturday, June 28.  The series will run its own sanctioned divisions and technical rules, but will compete under the Kartway’s competition guidelines with Jim Losurdo serving as race director.

The RMR Outlaw Series stop at the Kartway will be one of six for the series across New York State, and will be the first of its kind to come to the Kartway.

2013 RMR Outlaw Series champions included Richard Murtaugh, Jeremy Slosek, Kevin Root, Joey Delacruz, Richard Freeman, and Alex Carmody.  Other notable northeast kart racers such as Mike Walton, Bill Allen, Rick Raner, Mike Young, Nick Herriven, Todd Root, and Eddie Sickles all scored points with the series one year ago.

More information on the series stop at the Kartway will be announced as it develops.

For more information on Oswego Kartway visit online at www.oswegokartway.com, LIKE on Facebook, or FOLLOW on Twitter.

To speak with a Kartway representative call the Oswego Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.

2014 Regular Season Oswego Kartway Schedule (April through August):

Friday, April 11 – OPEN PRACTICE/Work Day

Friday, April 18 – Pre Season Race (No Points)

Friday, April 25 – Kartway Kick-Off! (Points #1)

Friday, May 2 – Weekly Race (Points #2)

Friday, May 9 – Weekly Race (Points #3)

Friday, May 16 – OFF/Rain Date

Friday, May 23 – Memorial Weekend Special (Points #4)

Friday, May 30 – Weekly Race (Points #5)

Friday, June 6 – Weekly Race (Points #6)

Friday, June 13 – Weekly Race (Points #7)

Friday, June 20 – Weekly Race (Points #8)

Friday, June 27 – OFF

Saturday, June 28 – RMR Outlaw Series

Friday, July 4 – Grand Prix Night (Points #9)

Friday, July 11 – King of the Kartway (Points #10) Triple Crown #1

Friday, July 18 – Weekly Race (Points #11)

Friday, July 25 – OFF/Rain Date

Friday, August 1 – Battle at the Bullring (Points #12) Triple Crown #2

Friday, August 8 – Weekly Race (Points #13)

Friday, August 15 – Justin Lamb Memorial Championship Night (Points #14)

Friday, August 22 – OFF/Championship Rain Date

Thursday, August 28 – 8th annual Oswego Kartway Classic – Triple Crown #3
 

Copyright © 2006-2014 Oswego Speedway