Friday, August 30, 2013
Lavery to Lead Fastest International Classic Field in History
By Oswego Speedway @ 8:15 PM :: 2404 Views

OSWEGO, NY (August 30, 2013) – For the second consecutive year, Oswego native Pat Lavery will lead the Budweiser International Classic field to green.

Lavery laid down the fastest lap of the 32 drivers to take time on Friday night with a quick circuit of 16.223 seconds at 138.692 mph.  The pole position effort is the third of Lavery’s career during Budweiser International Classic Weekend, adding to his runs in 2010 and 2012.

The pole position run for Lavery earns him $1,000 from front row sponsor Corr/Pak Merchandising.  

Lavery’s quick lap managed to hold off several late qualifying attempts, including former International Classic champion Davey Hamilton who turned in the second fastest lap of speed trials with a lap of 16.254 seconds at 138.427 mph.

Hamilton’s runner-up time comes along with a check for $500 from Corr/Pak.

The biggest story line heading into the qualification runs was Bob Bond’s new Hawk Chassis No. 47, which turned a blistering 16.060 second run during Thursday morning testing.  Bond set the fastest time during afternoon hot laps, making him the final car to take to the Speedway.  After cranking off a lap just shy of Lavery’s during his warm-up lap, Bond slowed during his official laps only mustering a 16.390 second circuit that placed him 5th in the final order.

Ray Graham and Shaun Gosselin timed third and fourth fastest with Otto Sitterly, rookie Ryan Litt, Joe Gosek, Dan Connors Jr., and Jessica Zemken joining the top ten.

Canadian Ryan Litt earned the Carl Rutledge Memorial Fastest Canadian Time Trial Award presented by Corr/Pak Merchandising.  Litt had never before driven a Supermodified at Oswego Speedway until Thursday morning, learning very quickly behind the wheel of the Dave Lair owned ‘Lair Jet’ No. 88.  ‘Flyin’ Ryan’ cranked a lap of 16.493 seconds to start inside row four.

Zemken’s effort of 16.590 seconds in the Graham Racing No. 11 makes her the first woman in the now 57 year history of the International Classic to make the starting line-up as the top 14 qualifiers on Friday gained automatic entry into the 200-lap event on Sunday.

Joining Zemken and the rest of the top ten in the ‘Fast 14’ as locked in starters for Sunday are Dave Danzer, Dave Shullick Jr., Dave Gruel, and Keith Shampine.

A total of 34 Supermodifieds were in the pit area on Friday, with 32 taking time.
Joe Chillemi’s No. 14 opted not to take time in round one while Dave Cliff in the No. 06 ran into engine issues and left the Speedway early.  They each hope to time during second round trials on Sunday.

Of the 32 machines to take qualification attempts, 26 were under the 17-second bracket making this year’s field the fastest in history.  

In 2012 a total of 24 cars clocked in under 17-seconds.

Second round time trials for the Budweiser International Classic 200 will take place on Sunday beginning at Noon, which will lock in positions 15-28 in the starting order.

For more information on Oswego Speedway and Budweiser International Classic Weekend visit online at, FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or LIKE on Facebook at

2013 Budweiser International Classic ‘Fast 14’

22 – Pat Lavery (Oswego, NY) ROW ONE 6 – Davey Hamilton (Boise, ID)

21 – Ray Graham (Ankeny, IA) ROW TWO 26 – Shaun Gosselin (Enfield, CT)

47 – Bob Bond (Mexico, NY) ROW THREE 7 – Otto Sitterly (Canajoharie, NY)

88 – ® Ryan Litt (London, ONT, Canada) ROW FOUR 00 – Joe Gosek (Oswego, NY)

01 – Dan Connors Jr. (Oswego, NY) ROW FIVE 11 – ® Jessica Zemken (Sprakers, NY)

52 – Dave Danzer (Oswego, NY) ROW SIX 2 – Dave Shullick Jr. (N. Ridgeville, OH)

50 – Dave Gruel (Fulton, NY) ROW SEVEN 55 – Keith Shampine (Cornelius, NC)

Friday, August 30th, 2013
Oswego Speedway
Oswego, NY
Budweiser International Classic Weekend – Corr/Pak Merchandising ‘First Round Friday’

Saturday, August 31st – Bud Light ‘Super Saturday’

Novelis Supermodifieds – Budweiser International Classic 200 (Top 14 locked in):
1. 22 - Pat Lavery: 16.223, 2. 6 - Davey Hamilton: 16.254, 3. 21 - Ray Graham: 16.294, 4. 26 - Shaun Gosselin: 16.385, 5. 47 - Bob Bond: 16.390, 6. 7 - Otto Sitterly: 16.392, 7. 88 - Ryan Litt: 16.493, 8. 00 - Joe Gosek: 16.505, 9. 01 - Dan Connors Jr.: 16.521, 10. 11 - Jessica Zemken: 16.590, 11. 52 - Dave Danzer: 16.610, 12. 2 - Dave Shullick Jr.: 16.639, 13. 50 - Dave Gruel: 16.643, 14. 55 - Keith Shampine: 16.659, 15. 60 - Tim Jedrzejek: 16.665, 16. 02 - Brandon Bellinger: 16.683, 17. 37 - Jeff Locke: 16.695, 18. 51 - Michael Muldoon: 16.720, 19. 99 – Michael Barnes: 16.724, 20. 20 - Joey Payne: 16.738, 21. 08 - Mike Lichty: 16.763, 22. 0 - Tim Snyder: 16.764, 23. 05 - Jeff Abold: 16.791, 24. 5 - Tim Devendorf: 16.825, 25. 24 - Jerry Curran: 16.848, 26. 1 - Shawn Muldoon: 16.865, 27. 70 - Gary Morton: 17.039, 28. 44 - Bobby Haynes Jr.: 17.265, 29. 07 - Tony Steiner: 17.314, 30. 56 - Hal LaTulip: 17.444, 31. 66 - Lou LeVea: 17.861, 32. 83 - Lou LeVea Jr.: 17.947

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.